IFL Announces 2018 Hall of Fame Inductees

IFL Announces 2018 Hall of Fame Inductees

The Indoor Football League (IFL) is pleased to announce the Hall of Fame Class of 2018. After a thorough voting process, which included input from IFL teams, coaches, fans, and current Hall of Fame members, the Indoor Football League honors and recognizes the achievements of Charlie Sanders, Jameel Sewell and Pig Brown. 

Charlie Sanders (OL, Billings Outlaws/Sioux Falls Storm)

One of the most dominant and accomplished offensive linemen in IFL history, Sanders spent seven seasons in the IFL and was a seven time United Bowl champion (2010-2016). Prior to joining the Billings Outlaws in 2010, Sanders came from a winning pedigree where he helped Valdosta State University win the 2007 NCAA Division II National Championship. As a rookie in with the Outlaws, Sanders quickly became a starter and helped Billings win the 2010 United Bowl championship. In 2011, Sanders joined the Sioux Falls Storm and proceeded to help the Storm win six consecutive United Bowl championships. In his first season with the Storm, Sanders was named a First-Team All-IFL Offensive Lineman, a recognition he held every season for the rest of his career. A stalwart along the offensive line, Sanders helped the Storm rank first in almost every major offensive category during his career. 

Sanders currently serves as a pastor in the Sioux Falls community.

Jameel Sewell (QB, Green Bay Blizzard/Nebraska Danger)

A two-time IFL MVP, Jameel Seweel was one of the most dynamic offensive players in IFL history during his six year IFL career. A former starting quarterback at the University of Virginia, Jameel Sewell began his IFL career in 2011 as a member of the Green Bay Blizzard. During his time with the Blizzard, Seweel showed glimpses of his playmaking ability to come after he passed for 12 touchdowns and rushed for six in limited playing time. In 2012, Sewell joined the Nebraska Danger where he would flourish and lead the team to three consecutive United Bowl championships (2013-2015). In 2013, after leading the IFL in passing yards (2,531) and rushing yards (654), Sewell was named the IFL MVP.  Sewell was again named IFL MVP in 2015 after leading the Danger to the United Bowl championship again. A dual threat QB, Sewell was twice named as a First-Team All-IFL selection and ranks third all-time in IFL history in rushing touchdowns (88), fifth in rushing yards (2,157) and sixth in passing touchdowns (151).

"I'm speechless," said Sewell. "Thank you so much for this great honor. I am in great company with year's Hall of Fame class. Pig and Charlie are two of the best to ever play the game. Thank you to my family, my teammates, the Danger organization, Richmond, VA, and everyone else that supports me and keeps me going."

Sewell currently works at a group home for adults and is working diligently to open his own group home for juvenile delinquents and mentally challenged adults.

Pig Brown (LB, River City/Omaha Beef/Nebraska Danger)

An All-Conference performer at the University of Missouri, Pig Brown began his professional career with a brief stint with the NFL's Kansas City Chiefs before joining the IFL's River City Rage in 2009. Brown would go on to join the Nebraska Danger in 2012 where he was a standout performer and leader for the Nebraska Danger teams that won three straight Intense Conference Championships (2013-2015).Upon his retirement at the conclusion of the 2015 IFL season, Brown ranks second in IFL history with 540 tackles.  He also registered 18.5 sacks and 15 interceptions during his career.  He was an All-IFL selection in 2014. Brown was named to the Nebraska Danger Hall of Fame in 2016.  

"Words can't express how proud and humble I am to receive this honor," said Brown. "Thank you to all of my teammate, coaches and everyone that voted for me."

He has since made a successful transition into coaching, currently serving as the Defensive Coordinator for the Danger.

The three-member IFL Hall of Fame Class of 2018 will be present during festivities at the United Bowl weekend (July 6th-8th).  They will be honored at the League's Awards Banquet as well as during ceremonies of the United Bowl. 

The IFL is entering the final weeks of the 2018 regular season.  All remaining games, and the IFL postseason can be viewed exclusively on the IFL's official YouTube page.